We are delighted to announce the first invited speakers

Gernot Marx, DE

Dr Gernot Marx, MD, FRCA, is full Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine and Chair at the University RWTH Aachen, Germany. He is Head of the Department of Intensive Care Medicine and Intermediate Care at the University Hospital RWTH Aachen. He is Chairman of the Board of the German Society of Telemedicine. He is full Board Member of the German Society of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care and full Board Member of the German Interdisciplinary Society of Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine. He graduated and took his residency at the Medizinische Hochschule Hannover, Germany. He was Senior Lecturer in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine at the University of Liverpool, UK, and full Professor for Anaesthesiology, Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany.

Anne Agur, CA

Anne Agur, BSc(OT), MSc, PhD, is a Professor in the Division of Anatomy, Department of Surgery at the University of Toronto, with cross appointments in the Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and Institute of Medical Science. She has been a teacher and researcher in the Division for more than 35 years with a primary research interest in clinically applied normal vs pathological structure and function of the musculoskeletal system including joints, musculotendinous architecture, innervation patterns and pain-generating mechanisms. She has won numerous teaching awards and is co-author of Grant’s Atlas of Anatomy, Essential Clinical Anatomy, and Clinically Oriented Anatomy.

Andreas Hoeft, DE

Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine, University Hospital Bonn, Germany

Andreas Hoeft graduated from Medical School of the University of Münster in 1981. After six years of basic research in cardiovascular physiology he earned a PhD degree (Habilitation) in Physiology. Following a residency in Anaesthesiology in Göttingen he worked for two years (1991-1992) as visiting professor in Houston, Texas. In 1992 he completed a second habilitation in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine. His major research interest is cardiovascular physiology, pharmacokinetics and dynamics, genetics in anesthesia and intensive care, clinical research and epidemiology. Since 1995 chairman of the department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine in Bonn, Germany

Davide Chiumello, IT

Professor Davide Chiumello, MD, is Chief of the Department of Anesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine at ASST Santi Paolo e Carlo Hospital, Milan, Italy. Prof. Chiumello’s research has largely focused on understanding the pathological and clinical aspects of Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS), with a particular focus on respiratory physiology, esophageal pressure, lung recruitment, lung imaging, ventilator-induced lung injury, prone position, controlled and assisted mechanical ventilation, and non-invasive ventilation. He was the Editor-in-Chief of Minerva Anestesiologica (journal of the Società Italiana di Analgesia, Anestesia e Terapia Intensiva) until 2015. He currently serves on the editorial board of Critical Care Medicine (journal of the Society of Critical Care Medicine). He is also a reviewer for a number of international journals and Editor of the E-learning committee on Respiratory Failure for the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine. Prof. Chiumello is the author of more than 140 scientific articles and several chapters in medical textbooks.

Edoardo De Robertis, IT

Associate Professor in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, University of Perugia, Italy.

Scientific and Professional Society Activities
SIAARTI (Società Italiana di Anestesia, Analgesia, Rianimazione e Terapia Intensiva)
Former Chair of the SIAARTI study group on Emergency 2015-18
ESA (European Society of Anaesthesiology)
Co-opted member of ESA Board of Directors
Former Chair of the ESA Guidelines Committee (2015-2018)
From June 2018 President of the European Board of Anaesthesiology (EBA) of the European Union of Medical Specialists (EUMS/UEMS).
From 1996 - a member of an international research group on mechanical ventilation joining the Universities of Napoli, Lund, and Paris XII (Creteil). The collaboration has given the opportunity to plan and perform experimental studies in complex animal models and clinical studies in critically ill patients, together with several multi-centre studies, which have been published on important peer reviewed journals. Moreover, an innovative system of ventilation aimed at the reduction of airway dead space (ASPIDS) was developed.

José A. Aguirre, CH

PD Dr. med. José Aguirre: MSc I was a young enthusiast anaesthetist when I was first exposed to regional anaesthesia at the Balgrist University Hospital 10 years ago. There I got hooked and having become a lifelong addict I was offered a position as a Consultant Anaesthetist. This passion lead to an academic career advancing to Senior Consultant, Head of the Anaesthesia Education and Research and Head of Study Coordination of the Unit for Clinical and Applied Research. I share with other regional anaesthesia enthusiasts the pleasure to be a Board Member of the European Society of Regional Anesthesia (ESRA) and of the SWISS Association of Regional Anaesthesia (SRA). Moreover, it is my privilege to be Chairman of the European Diploma in Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management (EDRA).
My main research interest are the effects of regional anaesthesia techniques on patient’s outcome (functional, pain, haemodynamic stability, cognitive dysfunction etc.), the effects of local anaesthetics on inflammation / cancer and the economical impact of regional anaesthesia on the perioperative processes.
To spread solid knowledge and skills of regional anaesthesia and perioperative pain therapy and to investigate their safety and further indications for further expansion of these techniques is my mission.
See full CV